Wood and Glass 3

P1130375ed

Image | This entry was posted in Photographs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wood and Glass 3

  1. This is beautiful. I have found beauty in curtains such as these. The way the light falls upon them is very pleasant. I don’t know if I told you, but all these everyday genre scenes you photograph were often used in therapy groups to reminisce when I worked as an O.T. in the mental health field.

    • Trifocal says:

      That is interesting. I wonder why those particular kinds of pictures are chosen? Maybe having a picture set in a house but with no people shown is general enough for lots of people in a group to identify with? Until you said this I think I would have assumed something like outdoor nature shots would have been used.

  2. Indoor scenes such as these are sometimes used because it’s indoors and it’s subject matter for discussion regarding activities of daily living in a house or how a person relates to them and is able to verbalise.

  3. I’ve never been in therapy but this picture is very calming.

    • Trifocal says:

      Thank you. I think maybe part of the reason is that there are no people or animals in the pictures, in fact no movement at all. That was just a side result of wanting to keep the location of the house and our identities private. As it turns out this has had a unexpectedly big impact on the photography.

  4. y. prior says:

    I agree – there is a calm feel…. 🙂

  5. Meanderer says:

    I think this was the first image I liked of yours. In looking at it again, I like it even more. The soft tones of the limited colour palette, and the soft light do make it a very restful scene. Really lovely.

  6. Trifocal says:

    Very pleased you liked it- thank you. At the time it was probably the pattern of shadows and of light and dark areas more generally that I noticed, but I agree- it is very restful.

Leave a Reply

